A KIND SHOT

"Like nothing ever seen." - broadway world

A KIND SHOT TICkETS
   
"A KIND SHOT - like nothing ever seen."
(Broadway World)

"Terri Mateer is a presence in the room."
(What's On Off Broadway)

"Honest & affecting.”
(Nytheater Now)

"Wild & heart-breaking."
(Rave Reviews)

"This is compelling theatre."
(Electronic Link Journey)

"A lovely raw & emotional piece."
(Stage Buddy)
   
A Kind Shot
Terri Mateer's One-Woman Show 
A KIND SHOT 
Is One of the Most Honest Pieces This Season 
Broadway World  by Juliana Adame - April 2015

Terri Mateer's autobiographical one-woman show is like nothing ever seen. It's a personal account of one woman's unconventional journey towards being a basketball star via modeling, stripping, becoming a drag queen, and a whirlwind of a crazy past. 6'1" Terri tells us her story, basketball in hand, in a comfortable, intimate setting. A hippie mother, no father, casual drug use: at first, the story is simple and somewhat funny, until she begins to unfold the more perverse parts of her life, beginning when she hadn't even reached middle school. She takes us all the way through her childhood, and into her adulthood, which luckily results in a happy ending, something the viewer longs for this girl in the story who never really knew who she was. It's truly a fresh, brave 
.daring take on the one-woman show

MATEER SCORES IN A KIND SHOT 
What's On Off Broadway  
by Scott Mitchell - March 2015
   
Terri Mateer is a presence in the room. Standing over six feet, she has striking features, a full head of blond hair and a physicality built from a college and professional basketball career. You get the impression this woman could take on the world. After an hour with her in the show A Kind Shot, you feel the same way, she could take on the world, but you know it would take a toll. Terri Mateer shares her story, and you can’t help but root for her. Raised by a hippie mother, she learned early that basketball could be her path to success. Not only was she good at it, but she loved the game. It brought camaraderie, discipline and a sense of purpose to a young girl. And, standing over 6 feet tall in sixth grade, she wasn’t a typical girl. Her story is well told. It has bumps in the road, but Ms. Mateer shares them with a simplicity and honesty that is forthright and refreshing. She recalls the moments as she experienced them, singular points of time that are glossed over because they are out of place in her expected narrative. Basketball takes her to college, to Europe and provides a safe place when in a new situation. It is all new and usually exciting for the young woman Terri is becoming. Later, when she pieces the story of her life in a singular whole, she finds that basketball has given her a framework for dealing with her own history. A Kind Shot is positive and honest, even when handling the worst in people. It never veers into the maudlin, despite the perfect opportunity. Ms. Mateer has a light, self-deprecating touch and she charms the audience. Which isn’t to say it is a perfect show. Ms. Mateer as writer and soloist has to carry the entire weight of the show on her shoulders. She succeeds as a writer better than as a performer. Her performance is uneven, sometimes amazing, and sometimes tentative. Some anecdotes get no response, either they fall flat or she uses sports terminology unfamiliar to the audience. In those instances, Ms. Mateer reacts to the silence, and it obviously catches her off guard. She recovers, and it is something that will improve over time. However, these aren’t the moments that stick with you.  By the end of the show, her earlier missteps are forgotten and she has the audience right where she wants them, rooting for her side. Terri Mateer is a very funny and genuine person that guides the audience through a raft of emotion 
!A Kind Shot is a great little show
   
Terri started playing basketball as teenager, and wound up
playing professional basketball in France
Stage Buddy by Susan Bell - February 2015​​
Recently I had the pleasure of seeing a one-woman show called A Kind Shot, a lovely, raw and emotional piece written and performed by Terri Mateer at the Davenport Theater in Midtown. Walking into the theater, the first thing you notice is a bare set, typical of the black box style. But there's a basketball court outlined with tape on the floor. This simple design works perfectly as Terri takes us through her life using basketball as her theme. You see, Terri is a beautiful, 6'1" tall woman who started playing basketball as a teenager, and wound up playing professional basketball in France. Just one part of her strange and fascinating story. Being as charismatic and strong as one could ever hope to be, Terri opens her heart to the audience and tells us of a crazy, artistic life with little guidance from family. This led to a series of abuses, both emotional and sexual. Normally, I would be uncomfortable or incredibly sad as a story such as this unfolds, but Terri somehow keeps it light, charming and funny. She weaves her tale with an understated warmth that makes you feel like she's your friend. It's rather like you are just hanging out at courtside having a chat, rather than at a theatre seeing a play. All in all, it's a simple and straightforward show. It's the story of someone who's had a fascinating life, and also the mistakes along the way. Perhaps you'll see yourself in Terri's story, or see a similarity to someone you know. I feel that women, in particular, will find a connection to what Terri has to say, although there was definitely a strong response from the men in the audience as well. After the show Terri took some time to do a question and answer with the audience, again making it a very intimate experience. I left the theatre happy that Terri found her voice and strength, and is able to share it with theatre audiences.
This is Compelling Theatre 
Electronic Link Journey by Laurie Lawson - February 2015


A KIND SHOT is the true story of Terri Mateer's basketball career. When you're 6'1" since 6th grade, the path would seem obvious. Not so with Mateer. Her journey twists and turns as she ventures from state to state and country to country. Eventually she ends up playing pro basketball in Paris, but her career choices are even more diversified than her travels. With raw honesty and a good deal of humor, even she at times seems amazed at the people who assisted or abused her (sometimes the same person participated in both acts). Her fascinating story is told in a "wait until you hear this" style that immediately makes you feel as if an old friend is sharing war stories. To use the basketball analogy, Terri Mateer's life is like the sport itself. It takes a great deal of energy, and if you're lucky, there will be players along the way who will assist you. You don't always win, but when you get a chance, you take a shot. And if you make it, you're on top of the game. Taking a shot by writing and performing A KIND SHOT definitely works out - this is compelling theatre.
A Kind Shot- Leaning-In Can Be The Most Effective Game At Life 
Rave Reviews NYC - February 2015


In Terri Mateer's one-woman show, A Kind Shot, she opens her heart and bares her soul - taking us through her emotional ups and mostly downs. Until someone "leaned-in" empowering her to take charge,Terri never knew she had a choice nor a voice. Terri uses basketball as an allegory for her life and at times basketball was her only salvation. As a child there wasn't much emotional support from her family so she sought it elsewhere. She was smart, artistic and athletic, but often a poor judge of character leading to situations where she was emotionally and sexually abused. She played professional basketball, lived overseas, modeled, stripped and designed erotica. Then she got sick. You couldn't make up a story as wild and heart-breaking if you tried - yet this is her life. Terri is imposing. She's 6'1" and stunning. The tone of the play is conversational - as if she's talking to a group of friends. This is not a polished play. Instead A Kind Shot is more a workshop composed of anecdotal stories which include mature and graphic sexual subject matter*. She does not appear to be bitter or angry, rather she exudes warmth and approachability. Terri's hope is to "package" her play for high schools and colleges to teach about the power of "leaning-in" to help a friend. It's an important lesson and, no matter what gender or age, we can all learn from her story.
 a kind shot 
 NYtheater Now
(Robert Attenweiler - August 2014)

 Too often, when we express admiration for an athlete, it all comes out in physical terms. We admire her grace or power or size  or a chiseled physique that those of us in the stands quite knowingly lack and, in doing so, we elevate these athletes and their  dedication to their bodies. They become impervious to harm - at least until their bodies prove otherwise. That strength - often  called "heart" - is what that athlete taps into when she needs to get, say, a gritty stop on defense and help the team succeed. Off  the court, though, this image of physical strength can just as easily become a mask, obscuring a less physical pain that is no less  real. The journey toward this discovery is what Terri Mateer takes her audience on in her honest and affecting one-person show,  a kind shot. Mateer, a former professional basketball player, begins by standing alone on a bare stage dribbling a basketball.  She soon rolls the ball aside and starts telling the story of her life and how a boarder in her childhood home named Ike taught a  6'1" sixth grade Mateer to play basketball. Having lost her father at a young age, Mateer quickly took to Ike as a surrogate. When  Ike abruptly leaves her life, though, at least Mateer still has the game that he taught her. She dreams of using basketball to get a  scholarship and become an architect. This dream leads her from Boston University to Florida State where she accepts a role as a  walk-on before leaving the team to play as the only woman - and a white woman at that - in the city's rough all-black inner-city  league. She eventually gets recruited by the new women's coach at FSU and, after graduation, signs to play professional  basketball in France. Most of these accomplishments, though, bring equally painful memories with them. Ike left (only to return  later in her life and similarly disappoint), another man's charitable act is quickly undercut by sexual abuse, and her career in  France is soon derailed by a lecherous head coach. Through it all, Mateer keeps rolling - after France, to New York City then onto  Chicago - seeing her dreams dashed at each stop - usually by manipulative men - and refusing to see the recurring pattern  because such perceived weakness is the antithesis of the strong, tough image she has spent her whole life fashioning for herself  on the court. Eventually, though, Mateer is able to acknowledge all the ways she has been used and abused throughout her life  but is able to still find solace and inspiration on the basketball court. Now, she sees playing as extending your heart out - of  making yourself more present - rather than using physicality as a shield or a shell. These are skills that she now teaches to  young girls, trying to be, for them, the great coach she needed at that age but could not find. Mateer is incredibly honest  throughout her story and she tells it in a spontaneous, off-the-cuff manner that immediately makes the audience comfortable.  Even through some of her most shocking confessions, Mateer is able to keep the tone light enough so that serious moments can  quickly be followed up with humor and laughs. Mateer is also a very present performer and seems to be experiencing the same  moments of joy and pain from her story as the audience feels in hearing it for the first time.
 Still, "a kind shot” has real touch and scores with ease.
   
Audience Reviews






"Terri Mateer And “A Kind Shot” Truly Dazzle"
I feel very fortunate to have seen the amazing Terri Mateer, a beautiful, talented, gracious performer in “A Kind Shot,” last night at Davenport Black Box Theatre.
The autobiographical, one woman show, written and performed by Ms. Mateer, with help from her husband Brian Mateer (stage manager and lights) was truly moving, inspirational and in the end profound.
She “had me” as they say, when she talked of learning to shoot like the great player, Oscar Robertson and held the Wilson (a mention of “Wilson” evoking Tom Hanks in “Cast Away”) basketball in the same way, the “Big O” did, before shooting.
Mateer went on to do so much more, blending her basketball and life experiences, in telling her inspirational story of surviving and now flourishing, while looking around and helping others.
She graciously greeted the audience after what was the last of four performances at Davenport. There will be other shows in the near future and I highly recommend seeing the extraordinary Terri Mateer in this truly moving work.
August 18, 2016 by Andrew Baumgarten


It was an awe inspiring show. It was exceptional. Brutally honest but nonetheless a show which everyone of age should see. I was fortunate to talk to the star of the show and she was simply a sweetheart. So down to earth. I recommend this show highly. -August 17, 2016 by Robert Rankins


We just got home, still shaking, still crying, still stirred up, and laughing. It couldn't have been more moving, well crafted, articulate, and important. You were brilliant at it and in it.Good for you, good for us! It was truly a dramatic and psychological work of art. Hats off to you!
- Alice and Bob

You pulled me in with everything you shared and seduced me with everything left unsaid.
- Love, Noelle

Gripped by every moment of it - loved the stories - told in just the right order - It's beyond talent. You're a natural but it's beyond that. You have genius. I've said it before & will say it again - in print if possible! You have genius that only a few have. I think when people see this show they will realize that you belong in a tradition of physical comediennes of genius.
- Carey Harrison, Artistic Director, The Woodstock Players Theater Company

Your performance was riveting. Your communication through emotion and body language was right to the point. I think all of the audience felt your experience, we certainly did.  Thank you for your hard work and the courage to share it with others. 
- Love, Erica

I so enjoyed your show that I want to read the book (I hope you're writing it.). Want to know more about how you overcame the obstacles in your life to get  to be the open woman you are.
- With love, Dexter

I have to tell you that I went to bball practice tonight and told my friends about you and your show. They all want to meet you when you come to dc!!! I don't think there is a senior team in NYC but you could become a floating player for other teams as they compete in state tournaments, and then become qualified for the nationals (not this year, but in 2017). That's not too far off!!!Interested??
- Melinda

I just wanted to reach out to you again. I'm in one of Beth's writing classes. I saw your show Sunday, and I was blown away. The piece was crafted so well. I was touched. Thank you!
- Shane Allen Sent from my iPhone

Not sure if you will remember me but we met at Blue Moon Resort in the Catskills during an A.N.D. Improv Retreat.  I will see if I can attach my headshot to jog your memory. Anyway, I had heard good things about your show and was glad I could catch it on Sunday night.  When you took the stage is when I realized I knew you.  I loved the show, Terri.  It was so powerful and it stayed with me and I want to thank YOU for putting it on.  I am getting a bit more involved with The Barrow Group (i.e. did their Fast Play Fest and am now taking Seth's Solo Show class).  If you ever want to catch a reading or something there (or elsewhere), let me know. Brava!
- Angela

Amazing show last night. Both my wife and I were SO GLAD that we were able to come and see it. Please add my email to your list and I will encourage everyone I know to come and see the play when you mount it again later in the spring. Thank you again.
- Sincerely, Mark Woollett

Your performance was the topic of conversation at our after show dinner at Yum Yums (great noodle soup) We invited another artist/performer friend to join us for dinner and he is interested in checking out your show.
Thank you for a moving, honest, humorous and raw performance. This is why I love Theatre! 
-Jody

I found your show incredibly affecting and I was actually moved by my daughter’s response to it. She thought what you are doing and what you are saying is incredibly important. My experiences, as someone over 50, are quite different than the millenials. As far as women and feminism have come, in some ways I feel we're still living in the dark ages. You are a survivor and your play can help remind women of our strength  But they need to recognize, speak up and put an end to physical and emotional abuse -and I think they're afraid. I've asked Arissa to encourage friends to see the show. Keep in touch.
- Laura

We greatly enjoyed your performance.  I had my children with me, two boys 20 & 18 as well as a daughter 16 years old.  I was pleased they could see your performance as, in my view, you had important things to say.
- Craig Wilson

My Dear,
I've been delaying writing to you about your show until my week cleared a bit. Simply, I just thought it was an extraordinary performance of extraordinary material. It's a fantastic message which seems to be coming just at the right time in our culture. Not only is " A Kind Shot" a perfect showcase for you as a performer (and you are such a pro already) but it offers an engaging cautionary tale with a strategy that can change lives.
- Christine Donnelly

As we told you we see a lot of stuff in small theaters, basements, garages etc. Your performance, we felt, was the reason we keep going. As they say, "You have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find the prince." Last night we found a prince.
- Carole & Harvey
 A KIND SHOT
Mansfield University Diversity Programming
November 2016

"I greatly appreciated your presentation. It provided some significant insight in addressing such an important topic as Title lX. As a male coach coaching a male sport like football, it could be easy to be oblivious to the inequality issues in sport.
The student athletes that I coach need to be part of the solution in resolving the problems that we face today. It all begins with 'doing' and 'saying' the right things, always show respect and support efforts in making participation fair for everyone.
Thank you again and God Bless!"


Rick Novack -Mansfield University Football Coach​​


"Cassius Clay, Eleanor Roosevelt, Martin Luther King and many others have performed on our stage and now you have graced it with your show and presence.
Thank you."


Francis L. Hendricks-President Mansfield University 

​​
A KIND SHOT TICkETS